fbpx
August 22, 2022 Fabienne Revillard

Positive Mindset: 10 Tips for Developing a Positive Attitude

1. Understand why

Why would we want to have more positive thoughts than negative ones?

Take optimism for example.

When we are optimistic, we are predisposed to behave more easily in positive, healthy and constructive ways.

Let's say you think "the meeting will be informative" rather than "I'm going to waste my time in this meeting". Your mindset is more open and leads you to identify the good things about the meeting, as well as the important information. In addition, being positive can make it easier for you to do your job afterwards by not having to search for the information in question.

Conversely, still with this example, a negative mind drains you of energy. Indeed, you need more energy to go to the meeting because you have to overcome your internal resistance. This internal resistance is also energy consuming. On the other hand, your "unconscious internal radar" is not oriented on what can be instructive. Therefore, you are more likely to miss important information.

CQFD, not only are you wasting energy, but you may be complicating your life.

Furthermore, a positive mindset is inherently beneficial. Indeed, when you think positively, it is pleasant, it arouses positive emotions and reinforces your morale. You increase your well-being, vitality and are happier. Adopting a positive attitude allows you to reduce the effects and/or risks of depression and anxiety.
Helweg-Larsen, M., Sadeghian, P., Webb, M.-A. (2002) "The stigma of being pessimistically biased".

Finally, optimistic people show a greater motivation to make efforts to achieve their goals. Their optimism about succeeding in whatever they do, implies that they develop greater perseverance.

A virtuous loop is set up, they get more involved and also set more and higher goals. They take more initiative and are less likely to give up. Thanks to this functioning, they are more successful at all levels: professional, social, sports, health, self-confidence and self-esteem, energy, motivation, enthusiasm, esteem of others...
Scheier & co (1986) " Coping with stress : Divergent strategies of optimists and pessimists ".

2. Understand how

According to Rick Hanson, the neuroplasticity of the brain demonstrates the following 2 points:

A. When the brain changes, the mind changes.

Let's take an example: people under stress produce more cortisol (stress hormone that attacks the hippocampus, a small gland in the brain). The hippocampus allows, among other things, the management of our emotions, and therefore of stress...
Some people under chronic stress have seen their hippocampus reduced by up to 25%. This reduction of the hippocampus is a change in their brain. This change implies less ability to manage emotions. These people will be more prone to stress, stressful thoughts and worries.

CQFD, when the brain changes, the mind changes.

B. When the mind changes, the brain changes

What passes through the mind sculpts the brain. Our positive or negative thoughts sculpt our brain. Indeed, when a thought turns on the combinations of neurons that are supposed to represent the thought in question, this neuronal activity modifies the neuronal structure itself. The most frequently used combinations of neurons become stronger. And the neural flow goes through the easiest places, i.e. through the most reinforced combinations.

CQFD, by dint of thinking in a certain way, we "muscle" our brain in that direction. If we go to the end of the equation, we can imagine a brain that thinks by itself "as usual", when we do not voluntarily "force" it to think differently. Finally, it is not you who thinks, when you are not alert, but your brain...

The conclusion, while it may be difficult to implement, is actually quite simple.

You must start by deciding to think differently.

It is, in fact, about changing your state of mind by reprogramming your brain. The idea is to let the negative patterns fade away and to reinforce the positive practices. A bit like re-training a muscle after an accident.
Rick Hanson (2015) "The brain of happiness", Les Arènes, Paris

3. Controlling your thoughts

Easy, you may say, especially when we know that most of our mental attitudes are unconscious and therefore uncontrollable.

However, the idea is to use your mind voluntarily to modify your brain to change your state of mind.

The following points are intended to help you achieve this goal.

4. Identify your negative thoughts

  • What are they about?
  • Where do they come from?
  • What are they based on?
  • Is this really the case?
  • What proves it?

When you spot not thoughts, but negative moods, ask yourself this question:

What is the story I tell myself to feel this mood?

A mental story is a thought. Once you have identified the story in question, you can ask yourself the questions listed above.

Start by making as comprehensive a list as possible of all your negative thoughts over a two-week period.

5. Change your expressions into positive language

Also, notice how you express yourself. Start changing the way you express yourself whenever you can. Cultivate the positive side of things and focus your language on that.

There are a lot of negative to positive expression transformation tables on the net. Select the ones that match your needs.

For example, avoid "I don't like lemon pie" and prefer "I prefer chocolate cake".

Be careful, however, to remain fair with yourself and not to fall into the tyranny of the positive at all costs.

It is still important in this kind of exercise to be in acceptance of one's emotions and of oneself.

For example, avoid injunctions such as "stop being so negative" and prefer "I am angry|sad|depressed right now, I am focusing on what makes me feel good".

Positive Mindset: 10 Tips for Developing a Positive Attitude

6. Think positive

Once you have identified all of your negative thoughts, turn all of the ones that don't belong into positives.

For example, turn "I suck" into "I'm tired today and I've accomplished a lot so far".

Or "I don't know if I'm going to make it" to "I'm doing my best to make it and I'm starting with what's possible right now".

Also very common: "I am not enough...".

Not smart enough, not strong enough, not talented enough, not important enough...

Question this belief. Where does it come from? How was it constructed? Were there people who influenced you to believe this when you were a child? What was your father or mother like? Your brothers and sisters, your teachers, your community?

7. Letting go

Do you dwell on that person who behaved badly with you?

Or are you worried about what will happen in a week or a month?

Recognize and accept the emotion in you: anger in the first case, fear in the second.

Let the emotion go...

OK, this is not an easy exercise, especially if you are not trained in emotional management. If you find that you have trouble letting go of your emotions, it's normal, it's something that can be learned.

Consult a professional: psychologist, coach , etc.

Once the emotion is gone, see if you can do something about it. If yes, do it. If not, let go. Letting go means not worrying about it at all. Turn your attention to other positive things. Another person in your life who makes you feel good. Engaging in an activity that makes you feel good, etc.

Positive Mindset: 10 Tips for Developing a Positive Attitude

8. Smile and good mood

Smile as much as possible. The physical expression of an emotion of joy, namely smiling (laughing too) informs the brain that you are experiencing that emotion. Even if it's not true. Your brain releases feel-good hormones and neurotransmitters. And you feel better. This is called body feedback.
Strack, Martin, Stepper (1988) "Inhibiting and facilitating conditions of the human smile. A nonobtrusive test of the facial feedback hypothesis".

Choose good humor whenever possible. Not only does it make you feel good, but it makes others feel good.

Indeed, emotions are contagious. If you are in a bad mood, if you complain constantly, you risk contaminating those around you who were perhaps positive or neutral before. You have created a "cluster" of bad moods with a "boomerang" effect on yourself.

The reverse also works. You can create good mood "hubs" with a positive feedback loop on yourself.

That's why, generally speaking, people quite unconsciously prefer positive people.

9. Persevere

Baby, you learned to walk. A thousand times you fell. A thousand times you got up. You have it deep inside you. Don't waste your energy doubting it. Changing your brain takes time. About 6 months according to Alvaro Pascual Leone, professor of Neurology at Harvard. Alvaro Pascal Leone & Co. "The Occipital Cortex in the Blind: Lessons About Plasticity and Vision", 2005

You have been systematically changing this negative thought into a positive one for 10 days and it still comes back? Don't waste energy getting angry, don't get discouraged. Take note of it with kindness and start over 1000 times if necessary.

Meeting this kind of challenge alone is difficult. It's highly recommended to be accompanied by a professional in personal development, specialized in positive psychology, neuroscience, etc. You can also call on the services of a coach life coach specialized in this field.

You also have the possibility to enroll in a course that deals with thinking practices. The course has the advantage of motivating you to practice regularly, which is the "sinews of war" in the thought exercises. In addition, you have the support of the group and can share with others. The participants usually realize that they are not the only ones who are "struggling" and this has a reassuring side.

10. Congratulations on your success! Remember to encourage others!

Now you have developed a much stronger positive attitude than before.

Not only do you feel better, but changes are happening in your life.

You develop better relationships, are more successful at what you do, and may even be sick less often.

Fertilize your experience, encourage people around you who would like to get out of it.

It is possible that, like you perhaps at the beginning, these people found themselves trapped in the meanders of negativism.

What better way to share your journey, the obstacles you have overcome and your current well-being!

For further information, please contact Fabienne Revillard.

Positive Mindset: 10 Tips for Developing a Positive Attitude

Are you looking for tips for successful career progression?

Sign up at newsletter and receive our offers and tips for better professional development.

Share this article

fbpx

Positive Mindset : 10 Conseils pour développer une attitude positive

1.    Comprendre pourquoi

Pourquoi aurions-nous envie d’avoir plus de pensées positives que de pensées négatives ?

Prenons l’optimisme par exemple.

Lorsque nous sommes optimistes, nous sommes prédisposés à nous comporter plus facilement de façon positive, saine et constructive.

Imaginons que vous pensez « la réunion sera instructive » plutôt que « je vais perdre mon temps dans cette réunion ». Votre état d’esprit est plus ouvert et vous amène à repérer les bons côtés de la réunion, ainsi que les informations importantes. De plus, le fait d’être positif peut ainsi vous faciliter le travail par la suite en vous évitant de rechercher les informations en question.

A l’inverse, toujours avec cet exemple, un esprit négatif vous draine de l’énergie. En effet, il vous faut plus d’énergie pour aller à la réunion car vous devez dépasser votre résistance interne. Cette résistance interne est énergivore également. D’autre-part, votre « radar interne inconscient » n’est pas orienté sur ce qui peut être instructif. Vous avez par conséquent, plus de risques de passer à côté des informations importantes.

CQFD, non seulement vous perdez de l’énergie, mais vous risquez de vous compliquer la vie.

Par ailleurs, une mentalité positive est intrinsèquement bénéfique. En effet, lorsque vous pensez positivement, c’est agréable, cela suscite des émotions positives et renforce votre moral. Vous augmentez votre bien-être, votre vitalité et êtes plus heureux. Adopter une attitude positive vous permet de diminuer les effets et/ou les risques de dépression, d’anxiété.
Helweg-Larsen, M., Sadeghian, P., Webb, M.-A. (2002) « The stigma of being pessimistically biased »

Finalement, les personnes optimistes démontrent une plus grande motivation à faire des efforts pour arriver à leurs fins. Leur optimisme sur réussir ce qu’elles entreprennent, sous-tend qu’elles développent une persévérance plus grande.

Une boucle vertueuse se met en place, elles s’impliquent plus et se posent également plus d’objectifs et plus élevés. Elles prennent plus d’initiatives et manifestent moins de facilité à baisser les bras. Grâce à ce fonctionnement, elles ont plus de succès à tous niveaux : professionnel, social, sportif, santé, confiance et estime de soi, énergie, motivation, enthousiasme, estime des autres…
Scheier & co. (1986) « Coping with stress : Divergent strategies of optimists and pessimists »

2.    Comprendre comment

Selon Rick Hanson, la neuroplasticité du cerveau démontre les 2 points suivants :

A. Lorsque le cerveau change, l’esprit change.

Prenons un exemple : les personnes stressées produisent plus de cortisol (hormone de stress qui attaque l’hippocampe, petite glande dans le cerveau). L’hippocampe permet entre autres la gestion de nos émotions, et donc du stress…
Hors certaines personnes en stress chronique se sont vu réduire leur hippocampe jusqu’à -25%. Cette réduction de l’hippocampe est un changement dans leur cerveau. Ce changement implique moins de capacité à gérer les émotions. Ces personnes seront d’autant plus sujettes au stress, à des pensées stressantes, à des inquiétudes.

CQFD, lorsque le cerveau change, l’esprit change.

B. Lorsque l’esprit change, le cerveau change

Ce qui passe à travers l’esprit sculpte le cerveau. Nos pensées positives ou négatives sculptent notre cerveau. En effet, lorsqu’une pensée allume les combinaisons de neurones censées représenter la pensée en question, cette activité neuronale modifie la structure neuronale elle-même. Les combinaisons de neurones les plus souvent utilisées se renforcent. Et le flux neuronal passe par là où c’est le plus facile, donc par les combinaisons les plus renforcées.

CQFD, à force de penser d’une certaine manière, on « muscle » notre cerveau dans ce sens. Si l’on va au bout de l’équation, on peut imaginer un cerveau qui pense tout seul « comme d’habitude », lorsque l’on ne le « force » pas volontairement à penser autrement. Finalement ce n’est pas vous qui pensez, lorsque vous n’êtes pas vigilant, mais votre cerveau…

La conclusion, même si elle peut se révéler difficile à mettre en œuvre, est en fait assez simple.

Vous devez commencer par décider de penser autrement.

Il s’agit, en fait, de changer son état d’esprit en reprogrammant son cerveau. L’idée est de laisser les schémas négatifs s’estomper et de renforcer les pratiques positives. Un peu comme on rééduque un muscle après un accident.
Rick Hanson (2015) « Le cerveau du bonheur », Les Arènes, Paris

3.    Contrôler ses pensées

Facile me direz-vous, surtout lorsque l’on sait que la plupart de nos attitudes mentales sont inconscientes et donc incontrôlables.

Pourtant l’idée est bien d’utiliser son esprit volontairement pour modifier son cerveau pour changer son état d’esprit.

Les points suivants ont pour but de vous aider à atteindre cet objectif.

4.    Repérez vos pensées négatives

  • Sur quoi portent-elles ?
  • D’où viennent-elles ?
  • Sur quoi sont-elles basées ?
  • Est-ce vraiment la réalité ?
  • Qu’est-ce qui le prouve ?

Lorsque vous repérez non pas des pensées, mais des humeurs négatives, posez-vous cette question :

Quelle est l’histoire que je me raconte pour ressentir cette humeur là ?

Une histoire mentale est une pensée. Une fois que vous avez identifié l’histoire en question, vous pouvez vous posez les questions listées ci-dessus.

Commencez par faire une liste la plus exhaustive possible de toutes vos pensées négatives sur deux semaines.

5.    Changer vos expressions en langage positif

De même, repérez comment vous vous exprimez. Commencez à changer à chaque fois que vous le pouvez, votre manière de vous exprimer. Cultivez le côté positif des choses et focalisez votre langage dessus.

Il existe beaucoup de tabelles de transformation d’expressions négatives en positives sur le net. Sélectionnez celles qui vous correspondent.

Par exemple, évitez « je n’aime pas la tarte au citrons » et privilégiez « je préfère le gâteau au chocolat ».

Attention par contre à rester juste avec vous-même et à ne pas tomber dans la tyrannie du positif à tout prix.

Il reste important dans ce genre d’exercice d’être en acceptation de ses émotions et de soi-même.

Par exemple, évitez les injonctions comme « arrête d’être aussi négatif » et privilégiez « je suis en colère|triste|déprimé en ce moment, je me focalise sur ce qui me fait du bien ».

Positive Mindset : 10 Conseils pour développer une attitude positive

6.    Pensez positif

Une fois que vous avez repérez toutes vos pensées négatives, transformez en positif toutes celles qui n’ont pas lieu d’être.

Par exemple transformez « je suis nul » en « je suis fatigué aujourd’hui et j’ai réussi plein de choses jusque-là »

Ou encore « je ne sais pas si je vais y arriver » en « je fais de mon mieux pour y arriver et je commence par ce qui est possible juste maintenant ».

Egalement très courant : « je ne suis pas assez… ».

Pas assez intelligent, pas assez fort, pas assez doué, pas assez important…

Questionnez cette croyance. D’où vient-elle ? Comment s’est-elle construite ? Y a-t’il des personnes qui vous ont influencé à croire cela lorsque vous étiez enfant ? Comment était votre père, votre mère par rapport à ça ? Vos frères et sœurs, vos instituteurs, votre communauté ?

7.    Lâcher-prise

Vous ressassez sur cette personne qui s’est mal comportée avec vous ?

Ou vous vous inquiétez de ce qui va advenir dans une semaine ou un mois ?

Reconnaissez et acceptez l’émotion en vous : colère dans le premier cas, peur dans le deuxième.

Laissez l’émotion partir…

OK, ce n’est pas un exercice facile, surtout si vous n’êtes pas entraîné à la gestion émotionnelle. Si vous vous rendez compte que vous avez du mal à laisser partir vos émotions, c’est normal, c’est quelque-chose qui s’apprend.

Consultez un professionnel en la matière : psychologue, coach spécialisé, etc.

Une fois que l’émotion est partie, regardez si vous pouvez faire quelque-chose. Si oui faites-le. Si non, lâchez prise. Lâcher prise signifie ne plus s’en préoccuper du tout. Tourner votre attention sur d’autres choses positives. Une autre personne dans votre entourage qui vous fait du bien. Vous adonnez à une activité qui vous épanouit, etc…

Positive Mindset : 10 Conseils pour développer une attitude positive

8.    Sourire et bonne humeur

Souriez un maximum. L’expression physique d’une émotion de joie, à savoir le sourire (le rire aussi) informe le cerveau que vous êtes en train de vivre cette émotion. Même si ce n’est pas vrai. Votre cerveau relâche ainsi des hormones et neurotransmetteurs de bien-être. Et vous vous sentez mieux. C’est ce que l’on nomme le feedback corporel.
Strack, Martin, Stepper (1988) « Inhibiting and facilitating conditions of the human smile. An nonobtrusive test of the facial feedback hypothesis »

Choisissez la bonne humeur à chaque fois que c’est possible. Non seulement cela vous fait du bien, mais cela fait du bien aux autres.

En effet, les émotions sont contagieuses. Si vous êtes de mauvais poil, que vous vous plaignez constamment, vous risquez de contaminer votre entourage qui était peut-être positif ou neutre avant. Vous avez créé un « cluster » de mauvaise humeur avec un effet « boomerang » sur vous-même.

L’inverse fonctionne également. Vous pouvez créer des « hubs » de bonne humeur avec une boucle rétroactive positive sur vous-même.

C’est la raison pour laquelle, de manière générale, les personnes assez inconsciemment préfèrent les gens positifs.

9.    Persévérez

Bébé, vous avez appris à marcher. Vous êtes tombé mille fois. Mille fois vous vous êtes relevé. Vous avez profondément en vous la capacité d’y arriver. Ne perdez pas votre énergie à en douter. Changer son cerveau demande du temps. Environ 6 mois selon Alvaro Pascual Leone, professeur de Neurologie à Harvard. Alvaro Pascal Leone & Co « The Occipital Cortex in the Blind: Lessons About Plasticity and Vision », 2005

Cela fait 10 jours que vous changez systématiquement cette pensée négative en positive et elle revient encore ? Ne perdez pas d’énergie à vous énerver, ne vous découragez pas. Constatez avec bienveillance et recommencez 1000 fois s’il le faut.

Réussir seul ce genre de défi est difficile. Il est fortement recommandé d’être accompagné par un professionnel en développement personnel, spécialisé en psychologie positive, neurosciences, etc. Vous pouvez également faire appel à un coach de vie spécialisé sur le domaine.

Vous avez aussi la possibilité de vous inscrire à un cours abordant les pratiques de la pensée. Le cours a l’avantage de vous motiver a pratiquer régulièrement, ce qui est le « nerf de la guerre » dans les exercices de la pensée. De plus, vous avez le soutien du groupe et pouvez échanger avec les autres. Les participants se rendent compte en général qu’ils ne sont pas les seuls à « batailler » et cela a un côté rassurant.

10.    Bravo vous avez réussi ! Pensez à encouragez les autres !

Ça y est, vous avez développé une attitude positive beaucoup plus solide qu’auparavant.

Non seulement vous vous sentez mieux, mais des changements se produisent dans votre vie.

Vous développez de meilleures relations, réussissez mieux ce que vous entreprenez, êtes peut-être même moins souvent malade…

Fertilisez votre expérience, encouragez les personnes autour de vous qui aimeraient s’en sortir.

Il est possible que comme vous peut-être au début, ces personnes se retrouvaient malgré elles piégées dans les méandres du négativisme.

Quoi de mieux que de partager votre parcours, les obstacles dépassés et votre bien-être actuel !

Pour plus d’information, contactez  Fabienne Revillard.

Positive Mindset : 10 Conseils pour développer une attitude positive

shares